Tutorial 1 help please

Post here to discuss the PIC microcontroller tutorials.

Moderators: Chuckt, Garth, bitfogav

Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
tgraz34
decided to stick around...
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Tutorial 1 help please

Post by tgraz34 » Tue Aug 03, 2010 7:36 am

Hey everyone, i just started programming about a week ago so don't be surprised if i'm doing something completely wrong.

I'm trying to make a led stay on longer than its stays off and this is my approach.

Please tell me if my approach would work.

Thanks
Anthony

Code: Select all

begin										
	bsf PORTB, 0			
	call ledon		    	
	bcf PORTB, 0			
	call ledoff       		
	goto begin				

ledon        			
	movlw d'255'	
	movwf delay_1				
	movwf delay_2	
	movlw d'255'
	movwf delay_3

delay_loopon				
	decfsz delay_1, f		
		goto delay_loopon			
	decfsz delay_2, f			
		goto delay_loopon		
	decfsz delay_3, f
		goto delay_loopon
	return						

ledoff
	movlw d'255'				
	movwf delay_4				
	movwf delay_5

delay_loopoff				
	decfsz delay_4, f		
		goto delay_loopoff		
	decfsz delay_5, f			
		goto delay_loopoff		
	return						

end	

brad
Site Admin
Site Admin
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by brad » Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:41 pm

I guess you could look at making the code a little more straight forward / more efficient. Something like this perhaps:

begin
bsf PORTB, 0
movlw d'05'
call delay
bcf PORTB, 0
movlw d'01'
call delay
goto begin

delay
movwf delay_0
movlw d'255'
movwf delay_1
movwf delay_2
delay_loop
decfsz delay_2, f
goto delay_loop
decfsz delay_1, f