moving to another microcontroller family: experiences?

Post here to let others know of a project you're working on.

Moderators: Chuckt, Garth, bitfogav

Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Garth
I practically live here!
I practically live here!

moving to another microcontroller family: experiences?

Post by Garth » Sat May 24, 2014 12:11 pm

I have been using PIC16 µCs for 18 years. They were a suitable fit for early work projects, but the last one has had me taking PIC16 far beyond what it was designed to do, and future projects may go further. I have a lot invested in PIC16, in terms of learning its traps, its I/O, having a lot of code I can re-use (including my structure macros and other macros), knowing the MPASM assembler really well, having my own home-made, production-worthy programmer, etc.; so I do not take lightly the idea of switching families.

I'd like to look into a new µC family for the next 20 years' work. I've studied the PIC18, but although it fixes some of the PIC16 problems, it still has too many of them left. I understand the PIC24, 30, and 32 processors have entirely different architectures. I don't know yet if at least the peripherals on them are compatible. In the kind of work I do with constant I/O bit-twiddling, 8-bit is enough, even for A/D and D/A (or PWM), but I especially need to get away from the banking and paging problems. The very little I've heard about Atmel's AVRs sounds good, but according to Dave Jones in his EEVBlog, Atmel is not in as good of a financial situation to survive in the long term. I don't want this to be a self-fulfilling prophecy though. Daryl Rictor on the 6502.org forum has spoken well of AVRs, and many on the 6502.org forum have cursed PICs.