Cheap/Simple Supplies

Post here to let others know of great places to buy components etc... online.

Moderators: Chuckt, Garth, bitfogav

Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
rd1196
Can't get enough of electronics!
Can't get enough of electronics!
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Cheap/Simple Supplies

Post by rd1196 » Fri Apr 01, 2016 1:30 am

Im a student looking to set up a mini-lab for some hobby/personal projects at home any suggestions on where to find some simple startup level oscilloscopes and DC supplies and such. Nothing fancy Ive seen a couple DC supplies for 60-80$ online and some very decent oscilloscopes for about 250$ something in that range is what Im looking for if you guys know any good stores/sites it would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Garth
I practically live here!
I practically live here!

Re: Cheap/Simple Supplies

Post by Garth » Fri Apr 01, 2016 7:35 am

If you're really hard up, you could use a wall-wart or table-top power supply from Jameco or similar distributor, then add an LM317T (or similar) linear regulator on a little breadboard with a pot to set the voltage. Analog oscilloscopes can sometimes be gotten for free from schools or other places that are replacing them with newer equipment. Note however the extreme importance in getting good oscilloscope probes with/for it. I have more about it in the basic workbench equipment page of my 6502 primer.
http://WilsonMinesCo.com/ lots of 6502 resources

brad
Site Admin
Site Admin
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Cheap/Simple Supplies